Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Live CD loaded-asks for commands-what do I do?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Live CD loaded-asks for commands-what do I do?

I am a total beginner, but I got the Kubuntu Live CD and loaded it to my Dell Optiplex P4 2000 because I wrecked Windows 2000. My computer was slowing down, and I tried using a Windows Cleaner Program and wiped out my Windows Startup files, I don't have the Windows 2000 CD, and my emergency startup disc would not work..

So now I have loaded the Kubuntu Live CD and arrived at a screen which reports everything (ok) (except one hardware item). There is then the usual data information, no warrenty statement, and the bottom of the screen reads:

To run a command as administrator (user "root") use "sudo <command>" see "man sudo_root" for details.

ubunto@ubunto:`$

WHAT DO I DO, now?

Re: Live CD loaded-asks for commands-what do I do?

For some reason the CD isn't booting into the multiuser environment. Did you download the correct CD, (ie: not the alternative) and check the CD wasn't faulty after you burned it? If you did, then try typing

startx

and post up any messages you get.

D1SxEyes

Comment

I entered startx, and it said Continuing to Load.(something)...then immediately started to load so quickly, that I didn't get it read. A small x appeared on the screen. Then a blue screen appeared. And lastly, a box reading:

Sound Server Fatal Error
      CPU Overload
      Abort ? OK

I waited a few minutes, then it started running again, then the same message reappeared. I clicked ok, and it is continuing running with blue screen and a white band at bottom. Now filling icons, but one says:

Error KDE Panel --then it disappeared. And it keeps on running (for several hours), then quits running, the monitor shuts off. Power light stays on and will not turn off.

Is it time to try another install?

Comment

How much RAM do you have?