This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu on external drive Is it possible

As I am new to Linux I have looked at a number of distros I am wondering whether Kubuntu can be installed on an external hard drive. Having experienced a few recent re-installations with XP Pro I wish to retain that for a while until I am familiar with Kubuntu. Can anyone offer the benefit of their experience and any (constructive)suggestions?
    I don't know whether my query is even possible.

Prydeiniwr

Re: Kubuntu on external drive Is it possible

I've installed it, but there's one issue - if you will try to run it on different machines, you have to manually edit grub boot string every time, pointing to correct root device.
    Also you should understand, that AFAIK linux can't change videodrivers on the fly, you have to have few preconfigured xorg.conf's

Comment

Hi Kthulhu,
      many thanks for your reply. I'm glad it is possible as I've had many problems with Windows and Linux on the same PC I'd like to separate them completely.

I'm at a loss to appreciate what you are telling me. Not because of your explanation but simply I'm so new to this and I don't know enough to understand what you mean. Sorry about that, it's entirely my fault.

Can you explain it in simpler terms?

prydeiniwr

Comment

Do you plan to use this hdd(is it usb?) on different machines or on single one?

Comment

Hello again Kthulhu.
          Sorry for the long delay as it is all of us this is a busy time of year.
          Thanks for your continuing help - the ansawer to your question of whether I wish to use it only on one machine is a probable yes. But I have two machines and it is remotely possible that I'd want to use the USB external drive on both.
          I am considering the possibility of Putting Linux on an external drive until I'm weaned off Windows.
          Does that sound feasible to you?

Best wishes

Prydeiniwr

Comment