This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to stop an application

I am running Kubuntu 6.06, and as I was running Adept to complete my installation, the computer powered off because of overheating. OK, not pleasant, but anyway. Restart, and when I try to start Adept again, it tells me that another process is using dpkg and that I cannot change any programs ...
    How do I find out which programs are running?
    And then, how do I stop the application that is running dpkg in the background?
    Thanks.

Re: How to stop an application

My system's running with Japanese menus, so I'm guessing the English titles, but I think you're looking for "System|System Guard|Process table".

Sorry not to be more helpful; I'm a newbie myself.

Comment

I found:

System then find: KSysGuard (Performance Monitor)

and you will find the Process Table in which you should be able to find it and kill it.

The other alternative (I THINK as I'm new to this too) would possibly be to log out and halt the X Server (by pressing CTRL + ALT + Backspace) ? Not sure if this would work, I PRESUME that would kill all apps.

Hope this helps a little, as I said, I'm new too.
      I don&#39;t have a brain, I have a nucleus, basic functions are a doddle, yet ask me a question and I&#39;m dead.<br /><br />Tamed Nature

Comment

Thanks for the responses, I found the process table, but I don't have a clue which process is using the package database that is keeping Adept from running. If anyone has any idea ...

Comment

To fix adept, from the terminal run
          sudo dpkg --configure -a
          This should finish off the install job that adept was running and it should run normally.

Worked for me at least.

Comment

Thanks. In my frustration I reinstalled the whole thing. But I'll definitely try this next time it hangs.

Comment