This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

No, I don't want PostScript

I'm using a steam-era Hewlett-Packard Laserjet IIIP printer. (Since I've bought it, I've bought alternatives. They died on me. The IIIP just keeps chugging along.)

It's not a PostScript printer. On the front is marked "Resolution Enhancement PCL5" (I think that was the New Big Thing back then).

I installed it in the KDE GUI fashion: no smart-alecky stuff. (I'm an iggernant newbie and I know I'm an iggernant newbie.) I found the IIIP among what seemed a squillion "HP" options. There were various flavors of IIIP, and I was careful not to choose PostScript. I chose PCL5. There were various options even for that; none meant anything to me so I chose the recommended one.

I tried to print a page. The print-out starts:

%!PS-Adobe-3.0
    %%BoundingBox: (atend)
    and a bit more, and it wants to follow this with empty page after empty page.

The description, provided automatically, is "HP LaserJet 3P w/ PCL5". No mention of PostScript in that.

What stupid mistake might I have made?

Re: No, I don't want PostScript

What stupid mistake might I have made?