This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

kde text-editor component could not be found

Hi I'm new to Kubuntu. I have been using Linux for many years and KDE is my desktop of preference. I just installed Kubuntu 14.04 and it came with KDE 4.13.3.

I installed Kate, went to run it and got "kde text-editor component could not be found". Okay, so something was missing. I purged it reinstalled and got the same message. Okay, so maybe it was just Kate, so I installed Kwrite. Same message. So, I searched on it and found others with the problem in various forums and versions of Linux and versions of KDE. It appears that the problem has been known for some time. I tried each of the solutions I found and so far nothing has worked. I came here hoping that there might be a specific fix under Kubuntu. Have searched the forum and have not found anything relevant.

So, I have to wonder is it just me? No one else here seems to have the problem, or I'm totally missing it. I suppose I could just install Gedit and be done, but since I'm running KDE I'd prefer to have Kate. Besides I'm used to it and have come to prefer it.

I'd appreciate any help or direction. If there is a forum post here that I'm missing, please point me to it. If I'm the only one having this problem I can give more information about hardware and such.

Thanks, for whatever guidance you can provide.

Why did you have to install Kate? It is part of a default Kubuntu install.
    You should also have libktexteditor4 and libkatepartinterfaces4 installed, one of these is likely missing, and is what is causing the error message.

If you had to install Kate, and that did not pull in the missing packages, then you might want to check your installation.....

Comment

Originally posted by claydoh View Post
      Why did you have to install Kate? It is part of a default Kubuntu install.