This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[solved!]Another 1397 wireless issue - now not working on windows either

Hey there, I know this has been posted a lot, as I've found numerous threads and tried the fixes.
    background: I am an absolute noob. Truly. And tech challenged. I've been trying to migrate toward open-source lately, and have been making changes to my comp habits.
    Someone recommended Kubuntu and here I am.
    Version 10.04 is installed on my Dell laptop. I went with this option because I had troubles with installing the newest version. I chose the 32 bit.
    Everything started up fine, but of course, no internet. I checked and got the 'unclaimed' response.. there is no device recognized.
    I followed the tuts but still get a 'Installation of this driver failed' when it comes to the STA wireless driver.
    To make matters worse, now it is not working on windows either. So, I don't know if I did something to it in Kubuntu or what. I think I need to start the whole process over with the card.
    I can't stay plugged into the wall, internet and electrical outlet are far away and the internet is way off in a corner behind everything.. I am now using my laptop on the windowsill, lol...
    Not sure what to do.
    Sincerely,Birch.

Re: Another 1397 wireless issue - now not working on windows either

Hi...

Welcome to the forums

First, could you open a terminal (under "Applications" and then "System") and type (or copy and paste

Code:
    lspci
    and post the results? What is the brand and model number of your system? I'm assuming you made sure that the wireless feature is turned on.

Also, how did you go about trying to install the drivers? Through Jockey, a.k.a "Hardware Drivers?"

Regards...

Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all! http://peacewithgod.jesus.net/
    How do I know this personally? Please read here: https://www.linuxquestions.org/quest...hn-8-12-36442/