This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fresh Load of Karmic - GRUB install failure

I'm brand new to anything Linux. I'm supposed to be getting a copy of 7, but I figured I'll try Kubuntu while I wait.

Fresh build with an AMD II x2, Asus M4A785-M board, and two WesternDigi 160gb Raptors.

Kubuntu starts installing but when it gets to the grub install it fails. I've googled the problem and searched here, but anything I've found is over my head.

I downloaded the 64bit version and burned it to a CD. Runs fine from the CD, but when I go to install I get the grub failure.

I apologize if I missed this somewhere in the forums, but I've been overwhelmed by all this being so far over my head.

Re: Fresh Load of Karmic - GRUB install failure

Please explain the statement "when it gets to the grub install it fails" ? How do you know that it "gets to the grub install"? What is the last message that you see on the screen? Please define "it fails".

Your hardware seems far more powerful than necessary to run a full up installation of Kubuntu. I assume that, although you say it is a "fresh build", you have run SOME software on it to verify that you don't have a hardware problem. Kubuntu will take up so little disk space, you may even be able to leave it on your machine and still fit windoze 7 on your drives. Although you didn't tell us how much RAM you have, I suspect it's more than enough.