This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Best Security For Kubuntu!

Hey, I was wondering what the best security system is for Kubuntu.
    Motherboard:ASUS P5Q SE PLUS<br />Videocard:EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB<br />Ram:G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)<br />Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz

Re: Best Security For Kubuntu!

What in particular are you looking to protect against?

Comment

Well, I'm wanting a good firewall, antivirus, antiphishing, ect., just a really good defense, I have Backtrack, it will take some learning, is it very useful?
      Motherboard:ASUS P5Q SE PLUS<br />Videocard:EVGA GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB<br />Ram:G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB)<br />Processor:Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz

Comment

Hello I'm a noob in this OS, but from what I now Windows and Linux differ in their architectures, and one thing in mind while creating Linux was security, so normally you won't have to worry about a direct attack to your system.
        Also the number of viruses (if any, I'm not sure) for Linux may be small compared to windows.

I saw a post a couple days ago of important apps for ubuntu and there was an antivirus/firewall there, I'll search my history and look for it. Also one of my biggest fear in security in any OS will be coming from using the internet, using credit cards, transactions, etc. I'll try to find that post which was very well made and had a good explanation about security.

Comment

Antivirus - clamav (in the repositories) Also see klamav for kde frontend.
          Firewall - gufw, kmyfirewall, or firestarter. All are front ends to the same system, and are in the rep's.
          Free commercial antivirus: avast
          Rootkit scanner: rkhunter (in the repositories)

Yes, you need a firewall and rkhunter. Clamav is more to protect other systems from being infected by files that come through your system already infected, and which probably won't hurt linux, but can subsequently infect other systems.