Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Wacom Tablet pc + Kubuntu 9.04= Good match?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wacom Tablet pc + Kubuntu 9.04= Good match?

Hi Kubuntu citizens

i have return to Kubuntu after while. I have Fujitsu T4420 Tablet Laptop and i have friend who has same tablet and he installed Ubuntu in his tablet and all the wacom stuff started to work from begaining. so i was thinking that if i install Kubuntu my tablet will have everything working as well.

no need to go around the net to look for different script/patches to make Wacom work?
    Yes/No ?

i am an engineering student and i am trying to do more programming with C++ and Embedded system and i want to know if Kubuntu is the best choice for beginners.

Thank you. 8)

Re: Wacom Tablet pc + Kubuntu 9.04= Good match?

I have no experience using or installing Linux on Watcom tablets. A Google of the Internet reveals no significant posts relating to running Linux on the Watcom. If your friend verifies that it does work for Ubuntu then it MIGHT work for Kubuntu/KDE4.3.1. Download either a Jaunty ISO or the latest daily of the Karmic ISO, test the md5sum to verify the download, burn it at 10x or less, then after you boot it select the option to test the CD. If it passes that test then select the option to run it as a LiveCD (which won't touch your HD or make any changes to your computer). That way you can test for yourself how Kubuntu runs on your Watcom.

Before I retired the last 5 or so years was spent using Qt and C++ to write software for the dept of rev in the state where I live. I LOVE that combo. I suspect that writing embedded software using Qt will be just as much fun as I had will writing it for client-server applications against Oracle and PostgreSQL back ends.

Have you seen and/or used the new GUI RAD tool designed especially for Qt? QtCreator?

It's under the GPL and it is in the repository, as is Qt.