X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Desktop activity very slow

Hi there

I am new to the linux world and have gone through a number of distros due to problems with my bluetooth adaptor. I finally settled on kubuntu as it worked first time with everything (including the bluetooth)

I have installed onto my IBM T40 laptop and everything seems to run really well, except for the desktop. I am assuming that it is something related to Plasma. Something simple as selecting an icon can take 5 seconds...then a couple of seconds when I press rename.

Is there a way to revert to a plasma'less desktop?

Also, and completely unrelated. I will use the laptop to VNC to a Windows XP box that has dual monitors. I can't seem to switch to the 2nd screen like I could using Windows UltraVNC. Does anyone know of anyway for this to be done?

Many thanks

Re: Desktop activity very slow

Originally posted by PureLoneWolf
    Hi there

I am new to the linux world and have gone through a number of distros due to problems with my bluetooth adaptor. I finally settled on kubuntu as it worked first time with everything (including the bluetooth)

I have installed onto my IBM T40 laptop and everything seems to run really well, except for the desktop. I am assuming that it is something related to Plasma. Something simple as selecting an icon can take 5 seconds...then a couple of seconds when I press rename.
    Two thoughts:

1. If Kubuntu likes your bluetooth device, Ubuntu should too, and if the problem is KDE-related, that would be one workaround.

2. On a new installation, the "indexing" thing can take a while to finish, using considerable resources while it is working. So if you run "top" in a Konsole window, you can observe what process(es) are using your resources and slowing down the desktop. If it is just indexing, the solution is "wait a while".

Is there a way to revert to a plasma'less desktop?