This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

problem with adept

This is my very first post here so first off I'd like to say hello. I have been reading the forums for awhile while at work trying to learn to use Kubuntu. I am very new to linux in general. Any time I use Adept to download a program it gives me an error no matter what I try to install. I get this error

APT Error. Context:
    Package download failed,
    I wasn't able to locate a file for the sun-java6-jre package. This might mean you need to manually fix this package. (due to missing arch),
    : ,
    : ,
    :

I dont know what to do about it. If I try and use the terminal for say vlc, sudo apt-get install vlc it will give me this error message,

E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11 Resource temporarily unavailable)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?

I have successfully installed firefox and that is all. I have read anything and everything I can to figure this out but still no results. I dont know if its just something I am doing or if it is something I am not getting. Any help would be greatly appreciated and I thank you in advance.

Re: problem with adept

Install the metapackage called "kubuntu-restricted-extras" - that will install, amongst other things, JRE.

Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?
    You can only have one download application running at a time Synaptic OR Adept OR the Terminal. They all access only one database and they can't all do it together!
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Hi and welcome.

Adept can be a bit flaky from time to time. The alternative, synaptic is generally held in higher esteem and besides I think the author of adept has now given up on the project.