X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Some questions.

Hey all..

Since I'm going to install Kubuntu 8.10 on my Acer Aspire 5715Z laptop I had some questions. And I was hoping that someone could give me some answers
    Before you go all like can't you find this stuff on your own? Well... no. I'm new to linux and I really don't know where to look and HOW to look. Sure there must be a way, like using some specific keywoards but if I see some txt as listed below I'm getting confused.

- Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex 8.10
    - Ubuntu Hardy Heron LTS 8.04
    - Ubuntu Gutsy Gibbon 7.10
    - Ubuntu Feisty Fawn 7.04
    - These are my choices voor downloading VLC media player :-X

Currently I'm running Windows Vista Ultimate and I fairly had enough of it...
    What I want to know is: can I use this programs (or some that are similar to these) that are listed below ?

1 WinRAR
    2 Quickpar
    3 Grabit
    4 VLC media player

And here are the things that I do with the software.

1 Mostly packing and/or unpacking of large files (4 gb ++). Also splitting large files up into smaller 50 mb files.
    2 Repairing my binary downloads.
    3 Downloader binary files (.NZB)
    4 Watch .iso files

Also I came a cross a topic (not sure if it was on this forum) regarding my wireless modem. Anyone know if it is struggle to get a wireless connection with this type of laptop? Or where to find drivers.

So if anyone can and will help me I'd be very thankfull.
    <br />

Re: Some questions.

I probably can't be any help, but I wish I could. I also am new to the Linux world, and am in the process of putting Kubuntu 8.04 on my Acer Aspire Laptop. My laptop is the inexpensive 5515 and did not handle Vista very well. I am well pleased so far with how well it runs Kubuntu.
    Kubuntu is Ubuntu with a different graphical interface. It uses KDM instead of Gnome. I chose K on someone's recommendation.