Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Adept Manager not working after failed 3rd party software install.

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adept Manager not working after failed 3rd party software install.

Hello, I am a total noob,

Just installed Kubuntu 8.04 on my old Thinkpad T42. I wanted to sync my blackberry so I (stupidly) downloaded the necessary files and attempted to install from my desktop. After selecting the files with no response I went to the Adept Manager.

Problem: Adept Manager now says:

"The APT Database could not be opened! This may be caused by incorrect APT configuration or some similar problem. Try running apt-setup and apt-get update in terminal and see if it helps to resolve the problem."

This message seems pretty common, but I tried the sudo apt-setup, sudo apt-get update, the terminal dispalys the following:

Sudo apt-setup =
    "command not found"

sudo apt-get update =
    "E: Type 'file:///home/casey/Desktop/libbarry-dev_0.13-1.2_ubuntu804_i386.debfile:///home/casey/Desktop/barry-util_0.13-1.2_ubuntu804_i386.deb' is not known on line 57 in source list /etc/apt/sources.list"

Assistance would be appreciated.

Re: Adept Manager not working after failed 3rd party software install.

K Menu -> Applications -> System -> Manage Packages (Adept Manager)... supply password as needed... Adept Menu -> Manage Repositories... Third Party Software tab... uncheck the desktop file that is causing the trouble. And then try and run those commands again.

Now, you could also just comment out the line in your sources.list, but since you are a self-described noob I am trying to help via GUI as much as possible. So give that a try.

And if you are in 3.5.x instead of 4.x let us know.

Edit: Or can you not even open Adept Manager at all? I guess as i re-read that might be the case.

Comment