X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Nvidia driver problems after restart black screen after flicker

Hi

I am a straight newbie first day so I think I'm in the right group. I just installed a dual boot with Vista using Kubuntu 8.04.

I tried installing the nvidia drivers from the adept update manager selecting the envy package, I have an 8800GTS. It went through the install process and it seemed like everything completed successfully. I then went into the Device driver section and enabled the Nvidia driver. The system then downloaded some more things and installed something automatically.

I saw a prompt to restart my computer so I did so. Now on booting the Kubuntu Loading screen comes up and when the loading bar goes full the screen has a slight flicker and then just black screen.

Is there a way I can boot in recovery mode and disable the Nvidia driver from the console so that I can load Kunbuntu again?

Re: Nvidia driver problems after restart black screen after flicker

If you follow the instructions here they should help... "How to get started with no GUI" http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3085112.0

(It should knock out Nvidia)

Or you can try booting into recovery mode and choose Repair X Server (or something like that)
    "A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Re: Nvidia driver problems after restart black screen after flicker

Originally posted by Hamish32

I then went into the Device driver section and enabled the Nvidia driver.
      This is where you went wrong -- leave that "Device Manager" closed!

OK, now that it's borked, I'd say do this:

1. Exit the GUI with Ctrl-Alt-F1, log in to the console, and shut down the X server with
      Code:
      sudo /etc/init.d/kdm stop
      (or kdm-kde4 stop if you're running KDE4).

Code:
      sudo envyng -t