This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Video drivers messed up--this newbie is stuck

I am new to Linux (been trying it out for about a month now). I had everything running pretty well in 7.10 with the previous version of KDE. I successfully upgraded to 8.04 recently but had a few problems with KDE 4.0 (not directly related to my current problem) so I've been switching back and forth between the two versions of KDE.

Being the curious person that I am, I thought I would see if I could tweak the graphics drivers (even though everything was working fine ) I noticed that the OS was using a driver other than one made for ATI (I have an integrated ATI graphics card). I think it was fglrx or something like that.

Being the fool that I am, I switched to an ATI-specific driver, then restarted the computer. Of course, everything was screwed up then. I couldn't get it to load into the desktop, but the GUI login screen looked fine.

I read online about the Envy driver-installer program, so going into the safe mode console, I installed and ran the "core" text-based version of envyng. I eventually got it to install new drivers, but when I restarted again, it wouldn't even make it to the GUI login--in fact, it doesn't even stop at any sort of command prompt.

I'm a little puzzled about what to try next. I would like avoid reinstalling kubuntu if I can, because I do have some music on that partition that would be a pain to get back on there.

Let me know if you need any other info. This is my first time posting here so I'm sure I left something out.

Thanks.

Re: Video drivers messed up--this newbie is stuck

I forgot to mention that this is a dual-boot XP/Kubuntu machine running two physical hard drives, one for each OS.

Comment

Something to try:

Press Ctrl + Alt + F1 (or F2...6). This should start virtual console.

From Virtual console