This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

video drivers

I have a nvidia geforce 6800 gt video card, and would greatly appreciate if some one can help me install this on my latest version of kubuntu p.c. and where could i find the drivers? I went to the nvidia site and downloaded the linux version 32 bit is this correct?

Please help. I dont want to go back to windows!!!

Thanks

Re: video drivers

Kubuntu should inform you about the availability of restricted drivers and you can click to install them.

Alternatively, make sure you have the universe repository enabled and install envyng. Its straight forward.

Comment

forgive me stealthbanana but i don't know where to go to enable this setting, and where do i go to download envying.

Sorry I am a complete newbie to linux. Hoping to one day be able to answer questions for others.

Comment

Hang in there, sirron -- the more new folks pick up Linux, the more new instructors are needed!

Search is your friend:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3086232.0

Every factoid may not be the latest -- pay attention to the information on Alberto's site.

Comment

Thank you sooo much for both your help. I know newbies can be a pain in the rear, but i really want to learn.

dibl
          I followed your instructions and downloaded the envy file, but when i right clicked the file i didn't get the "Kubuntu Package Manager > Install". I am running kubuntu 8.04 in case you needed to know.

by the way your tuturial on this subject was excellent.

Comment

Originally posted by sirron

when i right clicked the file i didn't get the "Kubuntu Package Manager > Install". I am running kubuntu 8.04 in case you needed to know.
            Thanks!

OK, are you running KDE4? Try opening Dolphin and browse to your Desktop where the downloaded Envy file is, and right-click it there. It should say something like "Open with > Gdebi installer".

Comment