X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How do I install windows drivers?

Ok, this is a bit odd.

I installed Kubuntu 8.04 Alternate on this box yesterday. (Homebuilt from spare parts: Biostar P4 compatible MoBo with Celeron chip, think it's a 1.4ghz, 512MB of RAM)

When I did the install, I used a funky old 17" VGA monitor propped up on 2x4s that I have setup as a second workstation next to my primary machine (I fix Win machines for a living). Everything worked great, even the ancient wireless-b card is up and running. I set the screen resolution to 1024x768, tweaked a few more things to my specs (autologin and whatnot) and shut down the box. Then I moved it to its new home in the living room, where I want it to run as an internet access box for the whole family. So far, so good.

This morning I boot up the box only to find that I'm stuck with 640x480 screen resolution. System Settings -> Monitor and Display won't give me any higher resolution. So I start to Google while ripping clumps of hair out, and wind up editing Xorg.conf as follows: I change this:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    Vendorname "Plug 'n' Play"
    Modelname "Plug 'n' Play"
    modeline "640x480@60" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
    Gamma 1.0
    EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Defaultdepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Virtual 640 480
    Modes "640x480@60"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection
    to this:

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    Vendorname "Plug 'n' Play"
    Modelname "Plug 'n' Play"
    modeline "1280x1024@80" 25.2 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -vsync -hsync
    Gamma 1.0
    EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    Defaultdepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Virtual 1280 1024