This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suggestions for partition sizes

hey, i am new at this stuff, please bear with me. i am anxiously awaiting the arrival of my new laptop. It has an Intel Core 2 Duo T8300 processor, 4 GB DDR RAM, and 320 GB HD. Of course, it comes with Windows Vista. I was going to shrink the Vista partition to 100 GB, leaving me ~220 GB to install Kubuntu on. So, now the question...according to the forums, i should create 3 partitions with kubuntu (root, home, and swap). what size should i make each of these? and should i use the 64-bit version or 32-bit? thanks a bunch

Re: Suggestions for partition sizes

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3093496.0

also:

Vista *** The definitive dual-booting guide: Linux, Vista and XP step-by-step
    http://apcmag.com/dualboot

An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

Well if you are going to dual boot why not create a 4th data partition and designate it as "my folders"? It makes good security sense and you can easily "share" data with your windows install.

Anway:
      / (root) this is where your kubuntu will live= 10-12 gig format as ext3
      /swap = max 1.5 gig
      /home (with data partition) = 5-10 gig depending format as ext3
      /home (without data partition) as large as you want
      /data as large as you want. Format as ntfs

As for 64/32bit. Well get both. If you laptop likes the 64 bit live version use it

Hope that points you in the right direction and welcome to the party
      HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
      4 GB Ram
      Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

for the most part i think i am following (like i said, i am new, you can still smell the cellophane). as far as the "with data" and "without data" partitions, what is the difference? and what is with the /data partition? thanks again

Comment