This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

dual monitors, 2nd hard drive - 7.10 kubuntu

hello i am brand new to linux and i have a few questions.

i have 2 hard drive in my computer, i wiped out my primary drive totally and did a clean install from the liveCD. now in the dolphin it shows me both my hard drives, but when i click on the secondary drive i get this error with a red X at the bottom - "hal-storage-fixed-mount-all-options refused uid 1000". can someone please tell me what this means and how i can access my files on that drive?

i also have 2 video cards in my computer. how can i get the dual monitors working? thanks guys!
    kubuntu 7.10 gutsy gibbon - n00ber!

Re: dual monitors, 2nd hard drive - 7.10 kubuntu

hal-storage-fixed-mount-all-options refused uid 1000

That's a string you can search on here as it has been a well-known issue with lots of discussion.

I usually go to
    K > System Settings
    Advanced
    Disks & Filesystems
    Administrator Mode
    right-click on the partition of interest
    Modify
    select a mount point (e.g., to mount drive sdb, you might make up /media/sdb for a mount point)
    Click so anyone can do anything at any time.
    Click so it is Writeable
    OK
    Back out – click on the partition again – Enable it (a button at the bottom)
    File > Quit and exit out
    An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment

got it working, thank you!

does anyone know how to get dual monitors working?
      kubuntu 7.10 gutsy gibbon - n00ber!

Comment

Great on the hard drive part!

Now, where's some Dual Monitor Guys?

An intellectual says a simple thing in a hard way. An artist says a hard thing in a simple way. Charles Bukowski

Comment