This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Resoloution?

Hi , Ive recently installed a copy of Ubuntu with KDE 4.0.
    Im having a problem with the screen resoloution, and the icon's and start bar icons
    staying HUGE. It lets me change the screen resoloutin in setings but wont save.

Also, does anyone have any tips on how to install the usual stuff like Wireless modems and general Hardware?

Ugh also, how does one install from the live CD , to be able to dual boot with xp, so it doesnt format that os.

Any idea's much appreciated. Thanks in advance
    Cheers

Re: Resoloution?

I have no experience with KDE 4.0 so I'll leave that one for others.

About installing Kubuntu from the Live CD to get a dual boot with WinXP, I'm fairly sure that's what most people have done

So when you start the Linux installation you will get questions to this effect.
    Even when you want to install Linux on a separate HD, the most important thing you'll need to do is make a plan on how you want to split your disk.
    Part of the install routine will help you with this split but I very much prefer to do it manually.

Start with a good defrag, possible a few times repeated of your Windows disk (and from Windows).
    Although this is a non-destructive process you'd be wise to first back up irreplaceable stuff!!!

The Linux file system is based on root, the forward slash is the symbol: /
    And more than one disk or bipartition can be included, in Linux everything will show up as a file :P

Let's say you have a 100GB disk and you want to keep 50GB for Windows then the other 50GB has to be made ready for Kubuntu.

On the Live CD there is a program called GParted that can do the repartitioning of your HD.

Start the Live CD and GParted.
    Find the disk on which to install Kubuntu, what shows up as C:/ in Windows will probably be /dev/hda or possibly sda, partitions will show up as hda1 (sda1), hda2 (sda2) etc.

(You can only edit an unmounted disk!)