• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Little help!

Hello fellas!

another noob here

i've been using windows for a long time and just installed kubuntu
    i was amazed at first how my old pc was performing so well with it... loads fast... apps open fairly fast too... the only small issue i had with it was one with the nvidia drivers but i followed the instructions on the screen and got it fixed!

i got a p4 1.6, 512 ram, 20gb hdd and a gforce3 hehe amazing how i did not have to look for anydrivers kubuntu did it all for me!

not the greatest pc around but does a good job.

anyhow i've got a few questions! I would like to know how to set the apps to only load when i double click them instead of single clicking...

on top of that i closed the volume app the little speaker on the taskbar thinking my sound wasn't working ... stupid me had the jack connected to the onboard sound card which no longer works :P
    now it won't come back up... i found how to add an applet there but the applet isn't the same and i want my old sound thingy back...

and third every time i want to install any repository it asks for the installation cd... i borrowed my dad's pc dvd drive to install kubuntu and need to put the original drive back which does not read dvds...

how do i make it so that when i have to install an application it will go download what ever it needs of the internet instead?

EDIT:
    Another quick question how does one go about a personal document folder like My Documents in windows? do i just put every thing into home or user? regards!

thank u all!

Re: Little help!

Hi CattinMarc,