X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

You Tube Videos

A couple of very basic questions from a total newbie:

Is it possible to view You Tubes videos with Kubuntu ? At present I'm not able to.

Is there any software that I need to download?

And another very basic question that I have is; can you use .exe files with linux or is that a no no?

One more; Can you download files normally like you would do in Windows or should you always use Add/Remove Applications or Package Manager?

Tezzaa (total newbie but willing to learn)

Re: You Tube Videos

Last first. Use Adept Manager (K Menu | System | Adept Manager) for installing packages.
    .exe files - almost never.
    As to videos et al, see my post on HOW to Get commercial DVD playback in Kaffeine.
    Also, you should review HOW to Play MP3 files and HOW to Get non-free multimedia codecs
    Windows no longer obstructs my view.
    Using Kubuntu Linux since March 23, 2007.
    "It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data." - Sherlock Holmes

Comment

First question: Yes, you can view videos on youtube. This requires the Adobe Flash plugin. Install 'flashplugin-nonfree' and 'konqueror-nsplugins'. You can use 'Add/Remove Programs', Adept or apt-get from a konsole.

Second question: Some .exe files can be used if you install wine.

Third question: Yes, there are many programs you can download and install from the internet.

Mike
      http://monte48lowes.blogspot.com

Comment

Paul and Mike,

Thank you both very much for your replies

Tezzaa

Comment

Originally posted by monte48lowes
          Yes, there are many programs you can download and install from the internet.
          However, it is nearly always quicker, easier and more reliable to get them from Adept, since those programs are packaged especially for Kubuntu.

Comment