X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ubuntu vs. Kubuntu

Hello everyone,

I've been using Ubuntu for about two months now, and it's been my first Linux experience.

Compared to Windoze, I love Ubuntu.  My notebook runs so much faster, and I love everything I can do with Linux.

However, now that I've seen what Linux has to offer, I've been exploring the various distributions available, and I'm hoping to install one on my desktop computer.

Right now, I'm running the Kubuntu 6.06 Dapper Live CD for the first time, and I thought I might post here to see if I can get any feedback.

What are the pros and cons of KDE vs. GDE?  Would it be odd for me to rune Gnome on my notebook and KDE on my desktop? 

I want to get away from windoze on my desktop pronto, but I want to install the best distribution out there... if there is such a thing 

Thanks for any and all comments,

BG

Re: Ubuntu vs. Kubuntu

This may not be 100% accurate as of Edgy Eft (which will be released this Thursday), but it will give you a general idea of the differences:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/kdegnome

By the way, you can install both KDE and Gnome together--they are not separate distributions, only different desktop environments:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/kde
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/gnome
    Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

Wow, those are really, really helpful. Thanks very much!

Comment

I got kubuntu 6.06 3 days and at the first time its hard. But i learned now how to work with it 8)

Dont give up if something isnt working. If u worked with GNOME in the first time its not hard for 2 days

Have fun with kubuntu!

boriskuit

Comment

You can also make KDE share the same layout with Gnome (and vice versa I imagine) if you have become attached like me to the dual panel layout.

Comment

Originally posted by bg1256