Clear All

Different Linux distributions on an (let's say not so new) laptop

Hello everybody,

I recently acquired a laptop that was used a bit. Not today's hardware:
    Intel Celeron M 1500 MHz
    256 - 16 MB RAM
    16 - 32 MB integrated VIA graphics card
    40 GB Hard disk.

I have tried running all versions of Kubuntu I had. They were too laggy to work anything.
    Then I tried Ubuntu 8.04 it was IMPOSSIBLE to work with it. It was so slow.
    Then I tried PCLinuxOS 2007 KDE edition. It ran perfectly as if I had a new PC. According to my superkaramba widget It used about 64 MB of RAM.

Now can anyone explain this? On the first look both distros run KDE 3 with almost identical software (the only apparent difference of one being Deb based, another RPM based).

Why is this? Is there's something I'm missing? I've been using Kubuntu for almost two years now, never realizing that there could be such a difference.

Now I mostly use my laptop with PCLinuxOS, and sometimes dual booting win xp (I need it only for autocad 2004, wine doesn't run it)

Did anyone else had felt such a huge difference between Linux Distros? Would be nice if you shared your experience.

Cheers, Gediminas
    Join the dark side<br />---------------------------------------------------------------------<br />Samsung NC10 netbook running<br />PCLinuxOS 2010 // Win XP

Re: Different Linux distributions on an (let's say not so new) laptop

Perhaps it's a graphics driver issue. I have an old laptop, worse specs than yours. MANY MANY distros failed. The ones that worked were PCLinuxOS on a 'transplanted' hard drive (once I reconfigured the X server), SuSE, Knoppix, and KANOTIX (but using the older kernel) which I have installed now. I think Debian Etch will work as well, but Lenny doesn't (haven't tried sid)

So yeah. There will be some machines that ubuntu just won't work right with. You can spend hours trying to get it to work, or you can spend hours trying different distros...