This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

[KDE] KDE has rekindled my linux passion! >:D

Ahem. (This is really a KDE testimonial, but I think that's still ok, right?) I've been using debian-based distros, mostly ubuntu and mint for about 10 years now. I've never really used KDE though. I tried it a few times but didn't give it much time. Recently I've found myself kind of frustrated with the current DE offerings. I was using MATE, then Cinnamon for a while, but nothing really was what I wanted.

Then it happened. I installed Mint 17 KDE editon. It immediately felt awesome. I was like, WOW. So I spent a couple days customizing and it was great. There are so many things I like I really dont even want to start listing them. It seems like KDE has been working really hard to become a modern desktop environment and I really dig it.

I'm not an IT professional, I just use linux on my computers and learn as a hobby mostly, but I had been feeling kind of dull lately. KDE literally got me to feel some passion again. So that's great.

I'm having a really good time learning about it and I'm really excited for new stuff. I'm using Mint 17 right now, which uses KDE 4.12 i believe, but using kubuntu in the future isnt out of the question. Ive been using ubuntu and mint for a loong time. well i just wanted to say how much im enjoying KDE on the ubuntu platform.

Welcome to the forum!

There is nothing wrong with using Mint, it's a great distro! Even greater using KDE as the DE.

We share the same opinion on KDE!
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

Originally posted by piggah View Post
      well i just wanted to say how much im enjoying KDE on the ubuntu platform.
      you should give Kubuntu a go then ,,,,,,after all thats what we are , KDE on the Ubuntu base.