This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question About Adept And Alpha 4

I'm very new to Kubuntu, but having very good success with Hardy. I decided I would try the new 8.10 Alpha 4, which became available today, on my test system. I'm having some issues, but since I'm really new with the Alpha releases, I thought I would ask here and see if anyone else is experiencing similar issues, or if possibly I have a bad install. I installed the 64 bit version.

The first thing I note is that Adept attempts to open, after entering my password, however, quickly disappears. Trying to open Adept in a terminal, I think there are some permission problems. Here is what I get in a terminal:

zenarcher@zenarcher-desktop:~$ sudo adep_manager
    [sudo] password for zenarcher:
    sudo: adep_manager: command not found
    zenarcher@zenarcher-desktop:~$ sudo adept-manager
    sudo: adept-manager: command not found
    zenarcher@zenarcher-desktop:~$ sudo adept-manager
    sudo: adept-manager: command not found
    zenarcher@zenarcher-desktop:~$ sudo adept_manager
    kapture::PkgSystem::PkgSystem()
    Error: "/var/tmp/kdecache-zenarcher" is owned by uid 1000 instead of uid 0.
    KCrash: Application 'adept_manager' crashing...
    KCrash cannot reach kdeinit, launching directly.
    zenarcher@zenarcher-desktop:~$

Additionally, and some issue which may be related, in System Settings, when trying to allow autologon, I do not have, nor see the Administrator Mode, so I can make the change. Just doesn't appear.

Adept works fine when trying to open Add/Remove Package Manager, same with Synaptic.

If anyone could offer some advice or information....possibly a fix, or let me know if it looks like a bad install, I would appreciate it, as I don't have any experience with Kubuntu....except for about a week with Hardy. I've used Mandriva for a couple of years.