This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

General Guidance

Hello all my first post here. I am a newbie with Linux,Ubuntu,Kubuntu & Networking Web servers old hat with MSDOS,Windows,Personal (public) Web Pages, Dreamweaver, programming Paradox databases, Delphi Language. I am attempting my first commercial (private/public) web page for the company I work for. It has lead me into using Apache Server,MySQL & PHP, Javascript. Under Windows XP I have the web site ready to go live unto a commercial server when I got the virus on my system. I didn't loose anything but my supervisor is hesitant about me reinstalling my web development back on our CAD system. This lead me to trying to build a in office web server running Linux. I first installed Ubuntu 8.04 as a LAMP server got the internet connection working, then figured out by not knowing anything about Linux command prompt that I would never get anywhere with installing my existing web pages & development software. So yesterday I installed Webmin and have access to the Ubunto LAMP Server through my browser on another networked XP Box. I then installed Kubuntu to allow me to deal with my inefficiencies with Linux and just have a better understanding of what Linux is capable of doing.

My question is do I need to continue development of my web pages in Dreamweaver under XP or try to find an equivalent software for Kubuntu and how do I load my existing web pages to the LAMP server?

Any guidance links or general pointers will be greatly appreciated.

Thank ya'll

JKH Designs
    Reynolds, GA

Re: General Guidance

Quanta Plus is an excellent program - in my opinion.

It is in the repositories (via Adept)

It also installs KlinkStatus to check your links either on your HD or website, and when you first start it up, it tells you the other programs which it could use if you had them, a simple matter of copy&pasting the names into Adept.

Edited to add: