This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Not able to shut down my pc. Kubuntu 8.04

Hello. I installed recently kubuntu 8.04 with KDE3 (that one before KDE4) and when y try to turn off my computer, it logs out but didnt shut down my pc completely, just appears a black screen and i have to turn it off by pressing the power button of the computer. Before, i had Ubuntu installed and it turned it off properly, so i had nothing to care about...I just press the button and wait for it to shut down the system. I tried with debian, and it did the right thing too...why is not possible to do the same thing with kubuntu and how can i solve it? Please, be explicit, because I'm a newbie in all this.
    I tried editing the /boot/grub...lst file as posted, but it didn't worked for me. Maybe I'm doing anything wrong?
    My pc is an Intel Celeron 1.8Ghz, 256 RAM, 40Gb HDD
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: S3 Inc. VT8375 [ProSavage8 KM266/KL266].

If you want to know any other feature, please tell me how to find it, remember I'm a newbie.
    Thanks a lot for reading this post, even more for trying to help me solve my problem.
    P.D.: excuse for my english.

Hola. Recientemente instalé Kubuntu 8.04 con KDE3 y he conseguido que no se apaga totalmente...en vez de esto, simplemente cierra sesión y aparece una pantalla negra, indicativo de que el sistema se ha cerrado; estoy seguro que el sistema operativo se cierra, pero no apaga la computadora, así que tengo que apagarla a la antigua con el botón de la fuente de poder. Antes, había instalado Debian y Ubuntu 8.04 y ambos me cerraban perfectamente bien la computadora...¿por qué no puedo hacerlo con Kubuntu?¿Qué puedo hacer para solucionar esto?
    Las características de mi computadora están indicadas en la sección en inglés. Si quieren saber alguna otra cosa de mi pc, por favor díganme cómo conseguir esa información pues soy un novato casi absoluto en linux.