Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Blank screen for logout or turnoff. Only hard shutdown possible?

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Blank screen for logout or turnoff. Only hard shutdown possible?

I recently installed Kubuntu and quickly found out that ATI cards are a problem. After numerous tries with the latest ati driver it finally works (with compiz, etc). However one problem popped out. I am not able to turn off or log out. When attempting any of this opperations the computer just hangs with a blank screen indefinetely. I f I then press the power button once, the splash screen appears and the PC shuts down. Since this problem appered only after installing the proprietary ati driver it is probably related. I am new to Linux and have no clue as to what settings can be changed to address this shut off issue. Does anybody have any suggestions?

Re: Blank screen for logout or turnoff. Only hard shutdown possible?

This may be of help for now:
    http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3088251.0

Could you post the specs on your machine?
    Board, Prossesor, Ram Graphoics card and version, etc

Maybe someone can help more with a bit more info
    HP Pavilion dv6 core i7 (Main)
    4 GB Ram
    Kubuntu 18.10

Comment

I am not able to turn off or log out. When attempting any of this opperations the computer just hangs with a blank screen indefinetely.

Since this problem appered only after installing the proprietary ati driver it is probably related.
      AMD (Ati) catalyst drivers 8.01 (and maybe 8.02) have this bug:
      The Xserver freezes on shutdown if atieventsd is running.
      and freezes if you log out or try to use virtual console.

More:
      System lockup with catalyst 8.01
      http://www.phoronix.com/forums/showthread.php?t=7448

Removing atieventsd daemon:

Topic: ATI fglrx higher screen size resolution than 1280x1024
      http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3090086.0