This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Kubuntu 7.0.4 and my compaq laptop...

So, im a complete linux noob, but would like to put Kubuntu on my laptop as i have heard of it and used it some before. It is a compaq presario f500 series.
    Here are some specs:
    Amd athlon x2 1.7 GHz processor
    1 gig of ram
    nvidia go 6100 integrated video card
    80 gig hard drive
    broadcom wireless card (ive heard of issues with that company and kubuntu, but im sure thats not the problem right now)

When installing kubuntu, it goes into the restricted drivers, but i suppose that it cannot find a driver for my video card, tries to use another driver, and fails miserably, though it produces a very beautiful screen that starts at white then progresses to red and stays there. How can i fix this or "go around it"

Re: Kubuntu 7.0.4 and my compaq laptop...

Probably the quick solution, assuming you can get the text login prompt, is to set it up as a VESA display, as per this:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3085112.0

But you'll want an Nvidia driver for best performance. I prefer the Envy script installer, as per this:

http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/inde...opic=3086232.0

Comment

how do i get the text login prompt?
      I have not even been able to make an account or install at all. Everything feezes just after i boot from the cd and select start or install kubuntu

Comment

also, i think that it does go into vesa state, because while i see text and what it is doing, it says: saving vesa state.

Comment

Before you press "Run or Install", I think you have some "Options", right? Is it F6? If you play around with those, I think you will see a "VGA" mode -- try that. Once you get it running, then you can change it to VESA per the link I posted.

Comment