This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Macros?

I'd dearly love to find a Linux-native (and what better than (K)ubuntu?) text editor (e.g. Dolphin) with the Macro functionality of my old pfe (Programmers File Editor) in Windblows. Yes, I know I can run it in Wine - and I do - but that's a kludge.
    Any pointers, or anyone up to the task? I'm no programmer, but frequently need to perform convoluted repetitive tasks, and pfe's macros do this well.

Hopefully ...

Can you not do whatever it is you want with shell scripts? If you press F4 in Dolphin it opens a shell in the current directory.

Or did you mean Kate, rather than Dolphin...?
    samhobbs.co.uk

Comment

You're right, Feathers McGraw, sorry folks. Yes, shell scripting is in the 'programming' world. I use Kate a fair bit, but it lacks macros AFAICT.

Comment

Originally posted by Fester Bestertester View Post
        You're right, Feathers McGraw, sorry folks. Yes, shell scripting is in the 'programming' world. I use Kate a fair bit, but it lacks macros AFAICT.
        Bug 44908 - kate needs a macro system: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=44908
        Christoph Cullmann 2015-10-08 09:03:27 UTC
        Dear user,

this wish list item is now closed, as it wasn't touched in the last two years and no contributor stepped up to implement it.

The Kate/KTextEditor team is very small and we can just try to keep up with fixing bugs. Therefore wishs that show no activity for two years or more will be closed from now on to keep at least a bit overview about 'current' wishs of the users.

If you want your feature to be implemented, please step up to provide some patch for it. If you think it is really needed, you can reopen your request, but keep in mind, if no new good arguments are made and no people get attracted to help out to implement it, it will expire in two years again.