X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems with kopete notification in knotify plasma widget

Hello,

I am new to kubuntu, I have changed from ubuntu because of the unity release, and I am quite happy with it... There are still some things I am not acustomed to, but with time, everything will be ok.

My problem is the following: I have connected kopete to all my IM accounts, and have a lot of contacts. The thing is, I love the popup that displays whenever a contact comes online, but I do not need (in fact it is bothering me) to be able to see that notification after it fades away... Otherwise, if I leave my computer alone for 2 hours, I have got 300 notifications of people becoming online or offline (and often it is even the same people).

I don't know how to achieve this.I have looked into the customization of kopete notification, into the application notification customisation from the system setting, and into the plasma notification widget, but couldn't find an easy way.

There is still a couple of solutions:

• First Idea:

I can associate a script to that special type of notification, that script would be run, say 5 seconds after the popup shows (not a problem), and delete that specific notification (or mark it as read).

And here are the problems:
    • how do I delete/mark as read a notification (knotify? directly in the widget? where are they stored anyway?)
    • how do I select that specific notificationto delete? (If someone send me a message while I am afk, I want to have the notification when I come back...)

• Second Idea:

I can only run a script for that specific event (no classic notification), and that script only open a popup... But then, how do I do that? And, will it be in tune with the rest of my desktop customization?

Cheers for reading. Any help greatly appreciated.

PS: I run kubuntu 11.10 on an acer extensa 5620.

PPS: Sorry for my english... I am french, and trying

is this from the mail icon looking thing (Message Indicator, a