This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

CLI Gnupg works, Kgpg does not decrypt, gpg-agent does not work

Since my upgrade from 11.04 to 11.10 Kgpg will not decrypt files. Seemingly part of this is that gpg-agent won't run. If I create a file 'tester1.doc' I can encrypt it with my public key and decrypt it with my private key like so:

$ gpg --encrypt --armor tester1.doc

$ gpg --output tester1.clear.doc --decrypt tester1.doc.asc

I get the new file, tester1.clear.doc, which is the decrypted version of the orginal.

With Kgpg I get an error message that gpg-agent won't run. Then I'm prompted for my passphrase and I get an error that the file cannot be decrypted. Given the CLI results and the fact that I can decrypt the same encrypted file in Windows PGP with the same public/private key pair that I'm using in Kubuntu, the problem sure looks like Kgpg. I have very little experience with solving a problem of this type. Searching these forums has shown that no one has gotten an answer to solving a Kgpg problem like this. Searching the internet also yielded very little. I got help with the CLI stuff from Linusquestions.org. Does anyone have a solution? Is there a special forum I should post this problem on? Is this a bug I should report? Everything worked OK in 11.04.

Re: CLI Gnupg works, Kgpg does not decrypt, gpg-agent does not work

Given that your researched has turned up no solutions, it does sound like a bug report is in order.

http://bugs.kde.org

Comment

Thanks for the reply. I submitted a bug report with KDE. I don't know if you'll check this thread again but why do you think the problem is with KDE/Kgpg rather than Kubuntu?

Comment

On my Oneiric box, which I haven't yet upgraded to KDE 4.8 beta, Kgpg works fine. I have no ~/.gnupg/options file. The gpg-agent, while installed, is not running.