This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Shortcuts and backups.

Firstly, I am fairly new to the world of Linux. I have been reading up on commands, directory structures, configuration files..etc. I am proud to say I have a nicely running version of Kubuntu 6.10 with my older Nvidia FX5200 working like a charm, dual monitors and all (one monitor is actually a TV, as this will be a media center pc). I installed a few other distributions just to break them, so I knew what NOT to do. I decided on Kubuntu because of the ease of installation, as you never know when I may break this one

Anyway, I made a couple of small mistakes when setting up the machine. Firstly, I installed Firefox using this link http://kb.mozillazine.org/Installing_Firefox. I actually did both the local and multi-user ln -s command, not sure if this is a good thing or not. However, I cannot link to Firefox to create a desktop shortcut. I have tried linking to /home/<myhome>/bin/firefox but it does not work. My guess is because the file there is some type of link itself. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Oh by the way, to create the shortcut I am right clicking on my KDE desktop and choosing to create it from there.

Secondly, it took a very long time to setup this box to how I have it now. I consider it just about perfect for my use. Is there anyway I can do a backup of, for a lack of a better term, "system files" and such so I can get my system back if I goof it up? I am thinking I should back up the /etc directory for config files, but what else would I need to backup?

Thirdly, after I have my backup, I am going to delve into the mystical world of Freevo to try and complete this box as a media center. I am hoping that it will be easy as using the adept program. If anyone has been down this road and would like to give some advice, I will gladly take and apply it.