X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

gui root password

hello, i'm new to linux but i've figured most things out until now

what is the default root password in kde, sometimes inside the gui kde will ask me for the root password and when i enter the root password it gives me an error...i have no problem in the terminal, just inside the gui, i very much need to be able to reset this password or bypass it...

also, i made some mistakes trying to mount some drives

my system is set up like this
    2 hard drives,
    first hard drive mbr GRUB then 10 gb windows xp primary partition
    extended partition 10 gb program files for windows

second hard drive, first primary partition is kubuntu,extended partion 25gb fat32, another exended fat32 24gb finished off with the 1.5 gb linux swap file

now i went into System settings, clicked advanced then clicked disk and filesystems and tries to setup the mount information from there, i ended up with a bunch of icons on my desktop that i can't delete with the names of the drives i wanted to mount...like the two fat32 drives, i wanted to call /share and /share2 because i intended to share the files between windows and linux..i now have an icon that looks like a hard drive on my desktop names /share and /share2 but when i try to open it nothing is in it, while when i open it in windows it has my mp3.s
    and now i can't delete it because i don't have the root password that kde asks me for...

thanks...any help would be appreciated

Re: gui root password

there is no root password in Kubuntu, because by default, root is disabled. We use sudo (for command line) or kdesu (for GUI apps) to get admin/root privileges, and use the password of the user.

You might find this page helpful: http://help.ubuntu.com/community/RootSudo
    Jucato's Data Core

Comment