X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to Kubuntu/Linux/Everything!

Right. So here's the plan.

I intend to purchase an old desktop system. Pentium 3, 256RAM, 10-20gb HDD, etc...
    The company in question wipes all hard drives completely clean so I need to find an OS for it. I have never used Linux (or anything other than windows) before. Thus here I am.

I have a few questions:
    - Primarily, are my system specs up for Kubuntu?
    - Secondly, is it possible to load it on a blank hard drive? (all the stuff I've read so far are aimed at partioning hard drives for both windows and kubuntu)
    - Thirdly, is my choice in Kubuntu right? Or is there a better linux distro that you reccomend for my situation?
    - Finally, any other hints/directions for me as an absolute beginner?

Thanks in advance,

LOF

Re: New to Kubuntu/Linux/Everything!

are my system specs up for Kubuntu?
    Yes.

is it possible to load it on a blank hard drive?
    Yes.

is my choice in Kubuntu right?
    Yes. (We're biased!)

any other hints/directions for me as an absolute beginner?
    Yes. Read the "sticky"at the top of this forum - "Useful Tips for newbies go here" at http://kubuntuforums.net/forums/index.php?topic=3228.0

One of the best things for an absolute beginner is to download "Automatix" a script which downloads and installs lots of useful stuff

"A problem well stated is a problem half solved." --Charles F. Kettering
    "Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple."--Dr. Seuss

Comment

Thanks. I'll take all that onboard.

Some more questions:
      Which version of kubuntu should I download?
      Also, is there a wireless PCI card/usb device that anyone would recommend? (assuming it will work with the system mentioned above)

Comment

Originally posted by LOF
        Thanks. I'll take all that onboard.

Some more questions:
        Which version of kubuntu should I download?