This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

rpm & dependencies

I am trying to install a rpm package onto Kubuntu but get a failed dependencies error. I understand the error and know i need to install the files but am not quite sure where to find them. For example one of the files needed is called "ld-linux.so.2", by searching on something called an "rpmmirror" on the net i think i have found that this file in contained within the "glibc" library so i need to install that, is this correct? Also what is the easy way for finding where these files are? Surely i do not need to search for every one at the rpm mirror.
    As the above will maybe indicate i am very new to linux so please keep any answers fairly simple.
    Many thanks, Hiro.

I have now discovered (i think) that glibc is part of the libc (libc6?) library but both adept and synaptic tell me that library is already installed (version 2.3.60Oubuntu20) so now i am even more confused. BTW i have also done a full upgrade in case some of my files were too old but that did not help.
    Any ideas anyone?

Re: rpm & dependencies

If you tell us what rpm package you are trying to install, maybe we can direct you to a more compatible package. As different Linux distros can use different library versions and locations, converting an RPM to a deb is not always going to work.

Comment

The package is winamp the mp3 player, i know linux already has a good mp3 player but i just fancied a look. The file is Winamp-0.a1-1.i386.rpm.
      Things have moved on a little since last night, instead of trying to rpm the file i used a program called alien to convert it to a deb file and then used dkpg to instsall that. The installation appeared to go ok, there were no error or dependecy messages but it has not installed and after reading the man pages for dpkg i cannot find a verbose option to tell me what is going on.