This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Computer is running slow with graphic intense programs

I am having problems with my computer running very slowly! What should I do? I am very new to Kubuntu.

My specs:

Intel Pentium 4 HyperThread
    Nvidia Geforce Fx 5600 XT 256mb
    15gb partition for Kubuntu
    512 mb dual channel ram

Help me out please!?

Re: Computer is running slow with graphic intense programs

Define to us "graphic intensive programs"... are you using blender or the sort of 3D modeling programs?

and do you have a swap partition?

Comment

Yes i have a swap of 635mb and yes it is the 3d modeller and also 3d billiards.

Comment

I'm only a newbie, but I think there's something wrong with your OpenGL configuration. It's the issue with me as well.

That's all I can do.. sorry ._.

please wait for a 1337 hxorzz to come and help solve your problem

Comment

Thats what I am thinking also. It is slow when using google earth also. I also was wandering how to configure my computer so that the hyperthreading is also used

Comment

HT should be detected and used, not sure never tried a ubununtu on a HT prossecor, but my dual core one is detected as two and is used quite well, I recommend you find a good tutorial on getting xgl (the graphics thingy) set up, i found one that was really helpfull, i had tried all the right ways according to ati, and failed but this one worked perfectly the first try for me http://tazforum.thetazzone.com/viewtopic.php?t=2189
            well the main point of the post is telling you how to set up compiz (a useless but cool tool, just all special effects and crap, but required xgl or open gl)

Comment

Are you using the open-source default "nv" graphics driver, or the proprietary "nvidia" one? In your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file there should be a line that says

Driver "nv"
              or
              Driver "nvidia"