This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

please help me out

I am a newbie at linux and while i was installing kubuntu(6.06)
    I entered the option to

" manualy create partition"

but the "create" tab doesn't become active when I select the empty space and so i am not able to proceed

Is it because that it is a logical partition rather than an extended one(i have win-xp alreday)?

the harddisk info is like this
    80gb SATA(seagate),(intel mb)
    --c:7gb--win
    --d:6gb--data
    --10 gb unformatted space
    all 3 are logical

and e,f:25 each extended

also I want to know that if i could install Grub in the /boot so that it does not mess up the mbr and whether the /will do instead of /boot

also i don't want my win-xp to be affected by linux so that i can remove it without corrupting windows or vice-versa

i will be extremely grateful if anyone out there could help me out!!!!!
    thanks
    sud

Re: please help me out

well that's what I did when I installed kubuntu 6.06 in my 80 GB hard disk:
    C:28 GB as NTFS
    D:22 GB as NTFS for data
    as primary partitions
    a partition of 1024 Bytes for the swap memory(filesystem=swap)
    a partition / (or /root) for kubuntu (filesystem=ext3 or reiserfs)

the point is not to choose the "format"choice for your old partitions(windows and data,it's just like re-installing windows,that is to say deleting and reformating) you just fill the unallocated space(mine was a logical partition and it could be modified)
    As far as I know the / won't do instead of /boot,judging by waht I did and my PC works just fine(I didn't do anything for the bootloader as far as I remember or I didi sth too easy to bear in mind )
    If you don't do anything to the other partitions and mess with the unallocated space the worst thing that may happen is not to be able to see them(c:7gb--win
    --d:6gb--data) in case the bootloader wasn't correctly installed...