X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

install kubuntu 6.06.1 on acer aspire 1694 WLMi

Hello all,

First i got to say that i'm brand new to the whole linux scene... I now study informatics at school, and we write programs with kate in kubuntu. The teacher told us to install kubuntu at home, so i decided to make work of that. I downloaded kubuntu-6.06.1-alternate-i386.iso and burned it to cd. The installation was good. Didn't notice something wrong. But when i restart my laptop after install, he loads everything and then i get a black screen. Because i'm a newbie, I really don't know what to do.

my laptop specifications:

Processor: Intel Pentium M 760 (2Ghz, 533 Mhz FSB, 2MB L2 Cache)
    Memory: 1024 (2x512) DDR2 Memory
    Video Adapter: ATi x700 Mobility with 256MB PCIe
    HD: 100 GB 5400 RPM
    LAN: 10/100/1000Mbps Fast Ethernet
    Wireless: Wireless PAN: integrated bluetooth
    Interfaces:
    3x USB 2.0
    1x Infrared
    1x VGA for external monitor
    1x PC Card Slot (Type II)
    1x S-video/TV-out (NTSC/PAL) port
    1x IEEE 1394 port
    1x Modem (RJ-11) jack
    1x Ethernet (RJ-45) jack
    Headphones/speaker/line-out port (with S/PDIF support)
    1x Microphone / Line-In jack
    1x DC-in jack for AC adapter
    4-in-1 Card Reader (SD/MMC/MS/MS Pro)

If you help me, please be complete and i like step-by-step instructions. As I said, I am new to the scene so It's kind of urgent

Thx in advance!!

Grtz,

DJHazLe

Re: install kubuntu 6.06.1 on acer aspire 1694 WLMi

You get a black screen, where ? Do you get to a certain point in the boot when this happens ? Do you have a prompt on your balck screen ?
    "The problem with reality is that it leaves a lot to the Imagination" - John Lenon.

Comment