X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Corrupted files during installation.

Hi Everyone,

I am a complete noob to Linux but not to Unix but that knowledge is very old and mostly gone. I am a long time Windows user who wants to try Linux. I have spent the better part of this weekend and last weekend trying to install Kubuntu. First I tried the live install disk and then after snooping around in this forum, I tried the alternate install, which is really what I wanted to do in the first place. So I am still having trouble and looking for help.

I am trying to do a clean install on an old Emachines system which has a 433 MHz Celeron processor, 256 Mbytes Ram, a 3.2 Gbyte IDE drive, and some generic graphics that is integrated on the motherboard. I know this is a pretty minimal system but I loaded Win2K on this system and it worked perfectly for nearly a year.

Where am I now? I downloaded the ISO from this site and checked the MD5SUMS from the FTP site and they are correct so I assume my image is good. I start with burning the ISO image to CD and finish with data verification after burning. I start the boot process in the above system but first check the CD integrity using that in the boot options. I start the CD integrity process with the following options that I learned about here:

irqpoll noapic nolapic acpi=off

The integrity check finishes without errors, so I start the install with the same options as above. All goes well for a while until it tries to retrieve a file and discovers it is corrupted. So the initial check says the CD is good but the install program finds corrupted files. Not just one file is corrupted either.

Anybody have any suggestions (other than getting better hardware)?
    Thanks in advance

Grogley

Re: Corrupted files during installation.