This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't create folders in, or copy files to my internal Hard Drive

Hi. I am a complete novice on kubuntu. My HP G6 Pavillion laptop crashed and I can not get Windows 7 to load anymore. I've used a USB drive with kubuntu on it to boot kubuntu onto the laptop. That works. As long as I use the "Try kubuntu" option. I tried to install kubuntu directly onto my hard drive a couple times, but I got various error messages. So for now I'm running kubuntu from the USD drive.

My problem is: While I can SEE my internal hard drive (623 GB free space)in kubuntu's file manager, I can't create new folders in it, or move any new files onto it. Can someone please tell me how to do this?

Thank you,
    Lane

Notes:
    -kubuntu release: 18.10
    -version of KDE: I see no number on the "About KDE-Dolphin" window. Near the top of the window it says "KDE - Be Free!"
    -can't find the Grub version, b/c I don't know how to input the "line" character between "grub" and "grep" in the command: apt-cache show grub | grep ersion

-laptop / i3 processor (32 bit, 64 bit) / integrated graphics, I believe / one internal hard drive / one internal DVD drive

The | character is shift+\

Do you see the install Kubuntu button on the screen when running the live version?

Do you intend to install Kubuntu on top of Windows as you only OS? or do you intend to install Kubuntu next to Windows as a second OS?
    The next brick house on the left
    Intel i7 11th Gen | 16GB | 1TB | KDE Plasma 5.27.11​| Kubuntu 24.04 | 6.8.0-31-generic

Comment

Originally posted by jglen490 View Post
      The | character is shift+\
      Thank you, jglen. So I ran the command "apt-cache show grub | grep ersion". It didn't show me the Grub version, though. Actually, nothing happened.

Do you see the install Kubuntu button on the screen when running the live version?