Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just installed Kubuntu and load time on programs/applications is slow

Hi everyone,

I have recently switched to Linux from Windows and very quickly fell in love with the simplicity and all the possibilities. I tried Linux Mint first but quickly turned my eye on Kubuntu as I like the layout out of the box and the KDE environment. I am really new to all of it so still trying to learn the bash and everything else this distro has to offer(but also just have to realize I am a total newbie at this). I noticed one thing when testing through Mint and then Kubuntu and that is the load times on various programs/applications. In Mint they were quick and ready in a flash. In Kubuntu they are slower. E.g. Thunderbird and Firefox take a good 3-5 seconds to load. And I tried to read around to figure out if this was really the way it was supposed to be. Can anyone tell me if this is normal for Kubuntu or if I need to do some tweaking (tried to look at swappiness a bit without getting wiser for instance)?

Any help or explanation is appreciated

Tbird and Ffox are snaps which take longer to load. Many people remove snap and all snap apps from their systems and install Ffox and Tbird from the developers rather than from Ubuntu. A member wrote these scripts to do the job: https://gitlab.com/scripts94

Please Read Me

Comment

Even with SNAP, I think that the delay you are experiencing in not a major concern for me VS Microsoft O/S. So that does not bother me. I do think that the Apple architecture runs a little faster than PC's, so I look for people upgrading their MAC's (on craigslist or ebay) for system's to load Kubuntu on. I've tried quite a few flavors of Linux and always come back to Kununtu...have fun.

Comment

It's one the main criticisms of snap, and the reason I use Mint on some of my other family members PCs. It requires less fiddling out of the box.