X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Microsoft Fonts

Hi, newbie here.

I'm trying to migrate from Windows 10 to Linux, and so far Kubuntu is the most appealing distro. Among other things, I'm going to use my OS for writing in LibreOffice and I am required to present final articles written with Times New Roman font. Here's the problem - I can't get Microsoft Fonts onto Kubuntu. On Ubuntu Mate and Xubuntu I tried to install those fonts through terminal by typing sudo apt install msttcorefonts and succeeded. But can't install them through the same method on Kubuntu. I get this message: Unable to locate package msttcorefonts

Is there any other way to get the fonts installed on Kubuntu?

Originally posted by forreg View Post
    Hi, newbie here.

I'm trying to migrate from Windows 10 to Linux, and so far Kubuntu is the most appealing distro. Among other things, I'm going to use my OS for writing in LibreOffice and I am required to present final articles written with Times New Roman font. Here's the problem - I can't get Microsoft Fonts onto Kubuntu. On Ubuntu Mate and Xubuntu I tried to install those fonts through terminal by typing sudo apt install msttcorefonts and succeeded. But can't install them through the same method on Kubuntu. I get this message: Unable to locate package msttcorefonts

Is there any other way to get the fonts installed on Kubuntu?
    It should be there but as "ttf-mscorefonts-installer"
    Search for it using Muon or Discover. Muon should be easier and quicker.
    sudo apt install muon

EDIT: I decided to install ttf-mscorefonts-installer myself and see how the ttf's looked. They weren't there!
    I browsed around and found that installing them is more than just running "sudo apt install ttf-mscorefonts-install" from the Konsole prompt.

The entire process is here:
    https://askubuntu.com/questions/9789...7-04-libre-off

EDIT:EDIT: