X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to create a konsole batch file?

Hello all,
    I'm very new to linux and kubuntu, started using for work, so far it's been great. For work we have to initiate some of the software we're using via the Konsole, 99% of them are one command after another, so I'd like to find out if there is a way to create single file equal to a windows .bat file, where I can make my own shortcuts to initiate the software.

In essence:

1. Run command X
    2. Wait a few sec, (because command X is initiating the environment I need to be on)
    3. Run command Y (leave konsole window open after.

Thanks in advance!

There are hundreds, if not thousands, of manuals on the web giving tutorials on how to create bash scripts.
    Here is just a simple one:https://www.freecodecamp.org/news/sh...ipts-in-linux/
    Once you get into it you'll need a more complete manual, explaining in depth the bash scripting language.
    Here is one of hundreds: https://www.gnu.org/software/bash/manual/bash.pdf

The bash program on your system contains a man (manual) page. You can open an Konsole and enter "man bash" and it will be displayed. You can scroll forward and backward through it. Hit the "Q" key to close the manual. If you want to search for a specific term you can use "man bash | grep someterm"
    and only the lines containing that term will display.

Bash scripting is a LOT of fun, so have fun and good luck!
    "A nation that is afraid to let its people judge the truth and falsehood in an open market is a nation that is afraid of its people.”
    – John F. Kennedy, February 26, 1962.

Comment

What GreyGeek said, especially about the fun.

I'd like to add:
      1. There are many, many, ways to do scripting on Linux. Using bash is a good start, though. Scripts are not tied to konsole; konsole let's you run bash interactively, which is helpful to suss out the commands. I have scripts I use a lot as menu items, or widgets on a panel.