This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can't Get Permission

I've got two harddrives on my PC.  Both of them are mounted, but the one, which I plan to dump my MP3s and other such things on, won't let me write to it.  I can't figure out how to change the permissions on it.  I did a search here, and tried various things, but none of them worked. I wound up either creating a directory on my main drive, or when I did a cd to hdb1 (which is what the drive icon on the desktop says it is) I got an error message in Konsole saying that it wasn't a directory.  I'm not quite a total noob, but I'm still feeling my way around Ubuntu, so be gentle with me.

Re: Can't Get Permission

Welcome to the forums.

First off, I'm assuming this secondary drive is blank. The user Root owns the root of the drive. Therefore, only the user Root can create a directory to the root of the drive. So what we're gonna do is open konsole, and navigate to that drive by typing
    Code:
    cd /wherever_you_mounted_that_drive
    for example, my secondary drive is /dev/hdb1, however, it's mounted at /media/storage, so I would type "cd /media/storage".
    Then type
    Code:
    sudo mkdir whatever_you_want
    For example mine is called Music, so I typed "sudo mkdir music" Anytime you use "sudo" you're doing a task as Root, so therefore, you will need to supply your password.
    Then type
    Code:
    sudo chown your_user_name your_dir_name
    For example I typed "sudo chown will Music" Now that directory belongs to you. You can then go further and type
    Code:
    sudo chmod +x your_dir_name
    This will grant you read/write/execute priviliges on that folder and recursively on every folder within that one.

I hope this helps. It's easier to verbally say it sometimes vs. typing it out into a simple to use instruction set.

Will

Comment