This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A Few Questions

So I appreciate the help. I did a fresh install of Kubuntu the other day and love it so far. I am not good with Terminal and tried to install java and couldn't seem to figure it out.

Secondly does anyone have a preference of an email application aside from the installed one? I've used Thunderbird and wasn't too happy with it.

Lastly, I have a cloud storage on my Windows box.....Is it easy to get Linux to read the drive on my network?

Thanks for the questions

Originally posted by StuParker View Post
    I am not good with Terminal and tried to install java and couldn't seem to figure it out.
    The package default-jre includes everything you need to run Java programs locally on your computer. If you need to run Java from web sites, install that package and also the package icedtea-plugin.

Secondly does anyone have a preference of an email application aside from the installed one? I've used Thunderbird and wasn't too happy with it.
    What don't you like about KMail? Perhaps we can help you work through any problems. Personally, I like a lot -- it's one of the best email clients I've ever used.

Lastly, I have a cloud storage on my Windows box.....Is it easy to get Linux to read the drive on my network?
    Describe this "cloud storage on [your] Windows box" in more detail, please. What software? What cloud storage provider?

Comment

Originally posted by SteveRiley View Post
      The package default-jre includes everything you need to run Java programs locally on your computer. If you need to run Java from web sites, install that package and also the package icedtea-plugin.

What don't you like about KMail? Perhaps we can help you work through any problems. Personally, I like a lot -- it's one of the best email clients I've ever used.

Describe this "cloud storage on [your] Windows box" in more detail, please. What software? What cloud storage provider?