X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

KDE or Gnome?

Hi,
    I am new to Linux.
    I thought I would give it a go as I have heard about it for a while and have read various things about it on the web and in magazines. When I was given a CD containing Kubuntu, I decided it was now the time to dump Windows and move to Linux once and for all.
    I like KDE, it is very graphical and colourful, it reminds me of Mac OS X a bit, what with superkaramba etc!! I like that! But what about Gnome? I don't really have any experience of Gnome.
    How does it differ?
    What is the best desktop? (I appreciate it if people think there is no BEST, just different, but I am trying to find out about it!)
    What would be the best for a newbie to use?
    Is Gnome better for more experienced Linux users or is KDE just as good?
    Why is there more than one desktop? If Gnome and KDE combined, would not the combined knowledge and power make a better desktop than either?
    What are you views? I assume everyone on here prefers KDE as this is Kubuntu's forums, but there may be people who have or do use both!
    Thanks for your input!

Re: KDE or Gnome?

Both are fine for new users, just different. Read more here:
    http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/kdegnome.html
    Linux is ready for the desktop--but whose desktop?<br />How to install software in Kubuntu

Comment

Well, the only real way to decide is to try both out and see, especially as you can have both at the same time.

There is a nice comparison here, which I find to be quite unbiased imo
      And there are endless, endless, and (did I say?) endless discussions on this subject both on Ubuntu's forums and here. A little search time will dig up a huge amount of posts on this very subject, so I won't add too much on this subject myself.

http://www.psychocats.net is a good spot for some info and how-to's.

EDIT: lol beaten to the punch by the quick-fingered aysiu

Comment