X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Installation problems using Konsole.

Hi,
    I am new to Linux, but slowly through a lot of hard work, I am starting to get to know it a bit! But all of a sudden, i am seriously stuck again!!
    I am having problems installing anything using the Konsole.
    I have tried both superkaramba and ksmoothdock, but both times, after I have downloaded the source file, unzipped it to the desktop, I then cd to the directory and run ./configure
    Everything goes fine till it all stops abruptly at the following line

checking for X... configure: error: Can't find X includes. Please check your installation and add the correct paths!

What the hell does that mean? Once it gets to this line, it stops. I can not use the make command as it had not finished compiling. I have tried to sudo aptitude install X includes, but it tell me there is no such thing as X includes!! What do I need to do so I can finally install any program using the Konsole!
    Obviously something is missing off my system, but what and how to get it I don't know!!
    Please help!!! Thank you.

Re: Installation problems using Konsole.

Superkaramba is in the repositories, just make sure you've enabled all the universe multiverse repo's.

I'm not sure exactly what the error is for your souce install, but a few things: do you have the "build-essential" package installed? Also, if program x depends on program y, it's a good idea to look up program y and install all the packages that end w/ dev.

Comment

Yup - it would be easier if compiler could tell what is missing.

Quess: Something with x and lib (searching xlib)- hmm - have you xlibs-dev ?

X Window System client library development files transitional package
      This package smooths upgrades from Debian 3.0 by depending on libice-dev,
      libsm-dev, libx11-dev, libxext-dev, libxi-dev, libxmu-dev, libxmuu-dev,
      libxpm-dev, libxrandr-dev, libxt-dev, libxtrap-dev, libxtst-dev, libxv-dev,