Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can I transfer all data from one HDD to another in a single step. Win7/Kubuntu 14.04

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can I transfer all data from one HDD to another in a single step. Win7/Kubuntu 14.04

I screwed up and entered Windows 7 instead of Vista in the subject and don't appear able to edit and correct the mistake. Sorry!

I was just notified that my laptop HDD is close to expiring. It is 500GB and is to be replaced by a TB drive. Installed on my system is Windows Vista in a dual-boot configuration with Kubuntu 14.04. I would like to avoid all the installation processes if possible. I have never done anything like this before. Additionally I have been having trouble with the laptop never before experienced and am thinking that the worn HDD may at least in part be responsible.

I have 2.5" back-up drive case and the appropriate cable to transfer from a USB port. And so I am absolutely not misunderstood, if the BIOS is also stored in the existing HDD, I would like that included in the transfer. My TB drive arrives tomorrow. Thanks!
    Last edited by Shabakthanai; Aug 27, 2014, 11:21 PM.

Your BIOS does not reside on your HDD, but on the motherboard in a EEPROM (Electronically Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory) chip, so no worries there.
    You can clone your HDD with the dd command in Konsole. This command will make a perfect copy.
    So if the HDD you want to copy is /dev/sda and the HDD you want to copy it to is /dev/sdb then the command will be
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/sda of=/dev/sdb bs=4096
    . Where "if" is input file and "of" is output file. "bs" is the block size.